Wednesday, Nov. 2, 2011

It was a beautiful day on the mountain other than the construction going on, on top!

It was the first time I saw the little cardboard type funnels stuck in the rock other than the pictures posted on the blog.  I guess that’s where the dynamite is put in to blow up the mountain. They looked like little grave markers. My dog lay next to them on the south-facing slope by the campsite unaware of what was to follow in the near future of the mountain. There was a total of 11 people on the mountain today  with 7 of us there to witness the blast that took place around 3:30 pm. The blast was huge! Up on two different ledges to the south. I heard the workers say  “that was a beauty!”  I was so stunned by the immensity of it, I’m sorry to report I missed it with my I phone video.

Before the blast took place we were visited by 2 workers who warned us to stay back. We moved back to Nelson’s property line, knowing we were safe because of the huge convoy of machines and workers that moved up in front of us to get themselves out of the way of the blast.  They were closer to the blasting area than us. We knew we were safe.  After the blast we were visited again. The 2 gentleman wanted us to know they were concerned for our safety. I told them we were going to stay there.

Apparently there was a new trespassing order assigned today.  The new order was posted on the trees 1000 feet below Nelson’s property line but no police.

We were there and we will be there tomorrow.

And another camper reports:

Today on The Mountains: I cannot remember how many times that I’ve climbed up. The path is muddy with constant travel from occupiers and I can feel myself getting faster with my new Green Mountain Power Health Plan which prescribes climbing up at least 3 times a week. It is almost a relief when the booming sounds of construction are now loud enough to hear constantly. It means I am getting close to my destination.

What I want to do is put a message out there. If any workers are reading this now, then you know who I am. I want to be your friend in the hopes that when we need to exchange messages, we will have enough respect that we will listen to each other.

Did you know that Vermont’s mountains are some of the oldest in the world and have been taller than Mount Everest? It is because of our eroded mountains that we have such fertile land. It is amazing to think about these things when I am sitting atop the Lowells watching them be blown apart in 1 short second

4 comments on “Wednesday, Nov. 2, 2011

  1. Brad Cornell says:

    Thanks all you occupiers for doing what you are doing!!

  2. Eric says:

    I am hoping someone from the Lowell Wind Project can answer a few questions for a paper I am doing for my Environmental Studies Class at the University of Vermont. It doesn’t seem like there is much information going around campus about the project.If anyone would like to answer a few short questions listed below I can be reached at emackey@uvm.edu. No pressure to respond, if anyone does that would be much appreciated!

    How did you get involved in the Lowell activist work in the beginning?
    Did anyone in your family or community encourage your activism?
    Who are your role models for effective environmental activism?
    What do you think are the most important issues facing Vermont environmentalists today?
    Do you ever get burned out on your work or discouraged? How do you deal with this?
    How do you work with people with different political positions from you?
    Do you have any advice for young people interested in environmental activism today?
    Do you believe change is possible in the current economic system?
    How can others get involved in this project and others in Vermont?

    Thanks,

    Eric

  3. Burke and bark says:

    Come join us one day. We had a lovely student today from UVM. She was writing a paper for her environmental studies class….lots of information with this dedicated group!

  4. Gary says:

    I totally respect free speech, that being said, you wind protesters are wrong. The majority of Vermonters want these industrial size wind farms. It’s good for the environment, economy and will create many jobs in Vermont contrary to what you anti wind folks believe and are trying to say.
    These wind farms are going to be built regardless of all your efforts and interference. The only thing that you are accomplishing is insuring that the rate payers in Vermont will have to pay more for their electricity. 10 years from now once the dust settles on all of this nobody will remember your cause other than a bunch of collage and university students instigated by some collage professors that have never worked at a real job in their lives.
    When it comes to tourism, tourism has been on the decline for years in Vermont mostly because of decline in the middle class being able to afford to come and visit Vermont and and increase in extreme weather. Tourism only benefits a few folks as most tourism jobs are low paying.

Comments are closed.